Country Singer — Just Stand Up!

“Just Stand Up!” is a song performed by an all-star charity supergroup of pop, R&B, rock, country artists during the live version during the telethon “Stand Up to Cancer”. The group was purposely billed as Artists Stand Up to Cancer to the public.

American songwriter and producer Antonio “L.A.” Reid conceived the collaboration after a meeting with the founder of Stand Up to Cancer, which will benefit from the proceeds of the record. Reid co-produced the track with American singer Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds, and the single was released on August 21, 2008.

The singers performed the song live on the “Stand Up to Cancer” show, which aired simultaneously on US TV networks ABC, CBS and NBC on September 5, 2008.

The single was re-released on September 30, 2008, with the original recording, as well as the audio of the live performance. The CD was enhanced so it had special features for a computer. A music video was not produced for the single.

On October 15, 2010, the song was confirmed to be double-Platinum by the RIAA, and the music video was confirmed to be Gold.


* 1 Performers (in order of appearance)

* 2 Live performance

* 3 Track listing

* 4 Chart performance

o 4.1 Charts

* 5 Personnel

* 6 References

* 7 External links

Performers (in order of appearance)

* Beyoncé

* Carrie Underwood

* Rihanna

* Sheryl Crow (only on studio version)

* Fergie

* Leona Lewis

* Keyshia Cole

* Miley Cyrus

* LeAnn Rimes (only on studio version)

* Natasha Bedingfield

* Melissa Etheridge (only on studio version)

* Mary J. Blige

* Ciara

* Mariah Carey

* Ashanti

* Nicole Scherzinger (only on live version)

Live performance

The live performance was on “Stand Up 2 Cancer” event in September 5, 2008, aired by multiple channels. All the original artists appeared for the performance, except LeAnn Rimes, Sheryl Crow and Melissa Etheridge, with the addition of Nicole Scherzinger from the Pussycat Dolls singing the parts of Sheryl Crow. The live performance is slightly different from the original song available for download. The live performance video is available on iTunes.

Track listing

1. “Just Stand Up!”

2. “Just Stand Up!” (Live Video)

Chart performance

The song debuted on the Billboard Hot 100 at 78 on the week of September 13, 2008. The next week it was the greatest sales gainer and jumped 67 places to land at number 11. The next week, however, the song fell to number 36. It has also peaked on the Billboard Pop 100 chart at 18. On the UK Singles Chart, it debuted at number 39, before climbing the chart to number 26. Also on the Canadian Hot 100 chart it made a “Hot Shot Debut” at number 10 in the week of September 11, 2008, based on downloads.

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top